- Hide menu
Some studies suggest they can and others say they can’t. So who is right? The short answer is, they both are.
Do you remember growing up and perhaps your mother or a loved one said to you, “It’s whats on the inside that counts, not whats on the outside?”
With today’s topic we need to rearrange a few words, because when it comes to oats, “It’s whats on the outside that counts, not on the inside.”!
Oats do not contain the protein gluten the way wheat, barley and rye do. So, if oats do not contain gluten, why should a person with Celiac Disease may need to avoid oats? There are two reasons.
First, oats are often grown in close proximity to wheat and barley, both of which contain gluten. In addition, farmers rotate their fields so oats are often grown in the same soil wheat and barley have been grown on. Farmers also use the same equipment on the oat, wheat and barley crops.
So even though gluten is not found within the oat, it can be on it. This can be just as harmful to a person with Celiac Disease. If oats were grown completely away from wheat and barley and farmers dedicated their equipment to only the oat fields, they should be gluten-free. It is possible to buy “uncontaminated’ oats from vendors who ensure their oats have not come into contact with gluten. But that does not mean that every person with Celiac Disease can start eating “uncontaminated” oats.
The second reason a person with Celiac Disease (or others) may need to avoid oats is because they may also may have a sensitivity to avenin, the protein found in oats. Numerous studies have shown that a number of people with a sensitivity to gluten also have a sensitivity to avenin. Thus, when pure oats are consumed, they still exhibit the same symptoms as if they had eaten gluten. (source)
Bottom line, talk to your health care professionals if you want to add oats into your diet. Most health care professionals recommend having your Celiac Disease under control before even attempting to add oats. Even then, they recommend eating just a small amount. They key is to make sure you are closely monitored.
Red Mill Oats – gluten-free but not raw
Prairie Oats – gluten-free but not raw
Go Super Life – gluten-free raw oats
Through the research that I have done over the years regarding oats… I feel that it is of vital importance that we soak them before using them. Please click (here) to learn how.